Texas Clown Association General Membership Meeting Minutes-October 2, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 4:06 pm by President Diana Mc-Curtain-Talbert. All of the board members were present.

The minutes of the last general membership meeting in 2013 were issued to TCA members attending the general membership meeting. Christie McNeil made the motion to approve the minutes as read. Debbie Garcia seconded the motion. Vote was passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report-Mauri Norris issued most recent financial statement and the budget to members. She reviewed report and stated TCA has 222 paid members to date. The proposed 2015 budget mirrors the current year budget with adding a \$450 expense with trying to convert our tax exempt status from a 501 C4 to 501 C3.

Discussion was held about reasons for membership declining. John Luce gave suggestions for retaining members within the existing alleys.

Susan Keys stated that a variety art class is offered in her area as a means of attracting future clowns. Margaret Clauder stated that she teaches an after school balloon twisting class to the younger students. Kimatha Grice stated she recently read that memberships in all organization have decreased over the years as a generational trend. John stated that the alleys that offer clown schools tend to grow and retain members versus that those alleys that do not offer a clown school. Christie McNeil added that Brennan added a clown school through his FFA group. Alley 85 hosts a clown class at Irving Art Center for 1 week.

2015 Budget was motioned to approve by Duane Wilhite and seconded by Christie McNeil. Vote was passed unanimously.

Jolly Joey Clown Alley was recognized by membership for hosting 2014 TCA convention. Diana requested that those attending the convention fill out the survey at end of classes for future feedback.

Business Card Drawing Winner was Mary Whipple.

Raffle Tickets were discussed by Inez Esquivel and Donna Manna with proceeds being distributed to Fisher Houses (National Foundation) where wounded soldiers families stay while they are hospitalized and Special Needs Program at University United Methodist Church in San Antonio.

Competition Announcements: Patsy McMillan thanked clowns for judging in competitions and encouraged all members to consider being judges this convention and in the future.

2014 TCA Convention report- Mauri reported 105 were preregistered. First time convention attendees were recognized which was approximately 20. Alley 25, named Rosy Nose Clown alley from Tyler, Texas was recognized as a new chartered alley. Rosy Nose will hose convention in 2015 September 30-October 4, in Tyler with Jeffery Potts as headliner.

Diana announced that Kimatha Grice has created a new quilt for the quilt auction and the proceeds will offset the expenses of the next clown convention in Tyler. The old quilt is in the raffle.

Paul Walsh is our photographer for this convention and for 2015 convention. He is available for professional pictures and after each competition. Video is available for purchase.

The TCA Ambassadors are requested to stay after general membership meeting to discuss 2014 Ambassador of clowning award winner.

Convention Committee of 2015 was announced by David McCullough.

Greg Stanford, Joey Journal editor encouraged members to write articles and send pictures for the Joey Journal.

2014 TCA Board elections of officers

Sgt at Arms:

Voncille Hardy was the only nominee on the ballot. Diana called for nominations from the floor. Debbie Garcia nominated Margaret Clauder and she accepted the nomination. Christie McNeil moved to cease the nominations of STG at ARMS, Mary Whipple seconded the motion and nominations ceased. Members wrote in on the ballots given and members voted. Tally of notes was counted and results were Voncille Hardy was voted Sgt at Arms.

Secretary:

Patsy McMillan was the only nominee on the ballot for Secretary. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in which there were none. Christie McNeil moved to cease the nominations for Secretary and elect Patsy McMillan by acclamation. Voncille Hardy seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

TREASURER:

Mauri Norris was the only nominee on the ballot for Treasurer. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in in which there were none. Linda Green moved to cease the nominations for Treasurer and elect Mauri Norris by acclamation. Debbie Garcia seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

VICE PRESIDENT:

Christie McNeil was the only nominee on the ballot for Vice President. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor. Margaret Clauder was nominated but she did not accept the nomination. Patsy McMillan moved to cease the nominations and elect Christie McNeil by acclamation. Martha Warren seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

PRESIDENT:

Andy Anderson was the only nominee on the ballot for President. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in which there were none. Margaret Clauder moved to cease the nomination for President and elect Andy Anderson by acclamation. Linda Green seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

AREA DIRECTORS:

North Central: Martha Warren was the only nominee on the ballot. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in which there were none.

Panhandle/West: Kathy Keaton was the only nominee on the ballot. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in which there were none.

Northeast: David McCullough was the only nominee on the ballot. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in which there were none.

Southeast: Judy Cornett was the only nominee on the ballot. Diana McCurtain called for nominations from the floor in which there were none.

South/Central: There was no one listed on the ballot. Stephen Weser nominated Duane Wilhite as area director of South/Central. Duane accepted the nomination. Diana McCurtain called for additional nominations from the floor in which there were none.

With nominees presented, members from each area moved into groups to elect their respective Area Directors. Election results:

North central-Martha Warren
Panhandle/West-Kathy Keaton
South/Central-Duane Wilhite
Northeast-David McCullough
Southeast-Judy Cornett

Announcements:

Diana announced that TCA is in need of a new competition director for next year. Patsy McMillan will mentor any interested person. Education chair is also open. These are appointed positions. Aurora Krause recommended scholarships for TCA be reviewed and possibly revised with the rules that apply to the scholarship specifically. She also recommended that the Junior Joeys be considered for the scholarships. TCA Education director heads up a committee and reviews scholarships that have been submitted, write articles for Joey Journal and they help with education for convention.

COAI: no announcements.

WCA: Reno Nevada is place of 2015 convention

Joey to the World (gospel clown convention): Hurst, Texas, 1st weekend in February 2015. Webpage will have all instructors posted. Chagy is the headliner.

2016 TCA convention: No host is planned to date.

Susan Keys moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Judy Cornett. Meeting was adjourned at 5:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Olivia Adamson, Secretary October 2, 2014