# TEXAS CLOWN ASSOCIATION

# **GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING**

Date: September 26, 2019

1. Meeting was called to order at 4:05 p.m. Judy Cornett asked the board members to stand and be introduced.

<u>Board Members Present:</u> Judy Cornett, Linda Green, Patsy McMillan, Cynthia Rice, Voncille Cox, Andy Anderson, Susan Butler, John Luce, Pam Blacklock, and Susan Keys.

<u>Minutes</u>: Members ship reviewed the previous minutes. Debbie Garcia made motion to accept and Mary Alice Owen approved. Motion carried.

Alleys: All alleys were introduced.

- 2. <u>Treasurer:</u> Cindy Rice gave the treasurer's report which covers 15 months. TCA has collected dues. The checking account has \$7,669.81 with \$26,184.24 in savings, and \$5,059.55 in education. Linda Green motioned to accept this report and Susan Butler seconded. All approved without opposition or comments. The financial report will be filed for audit. Cindy then presented the proposed budget for 2020. Some items were lowered. Total \$6,978.50 which will cause us to be \$668.50 in the red. Jane Wilson made motion to accept report and Peggy Barton seconded motion. Motion carried.
- 3. Hotel: Please go to website and evaluate hotel. They have been very helpful in everything we have needed.

## 4. Thanks to Host Alley:

- 5. Announcements: The Great Idea Committee had a lot of bright ideas. Miss Cookie and Katnip asked if everyone got the contest page. They said to be sure on the treasure hunt to put your name on it and put in the bucket. Get your Back in Time photo done. Heather Morrison will be taking photos. Open Mike at 12:00 tomorrow. Bring your lunch. Banquet sign-up chart will be up in the morning at the registration table. Jeanette "Dusty" Sanders, Judy Cornett, Patsy McMillan, Mary "Charmain" Whipple and Martha "Miss Cookie" Warren all had ads in the Joey Journal and "Dusty" won the \$50 gift card drawing. A gift was given to all participants.
- 6. <u>Special Award</u>: Miss Cookie and Katnip brought Earl "Father Time" Warren to the front . He has contributed to the alleys: Happi Tymes, Mid Cities and Cowtown. He was presented the Happi Times Longevity Award.
- 7. Mary "Charmain" Whipple presented June "Cricket" Hinkle with the Cheerful Clowns Longevity Award. She started in TCA in 1989. Cheerful presented her with black pearls because of the friction and irritation she has created. She is their pearl!
- 8. Over 80: Group was asked to stand, Jane Wilson, Carolyn Kerr and Liz Melton.
- 9. <u>Competition</u>: Co-Chairs Susan Keys and Susan Butler thanked all the competitors, judges, runners, and timers for their participation.

10. <u>Scholarship</u>: Linda Green announced Darris Cross is the winner of the Scholarship. Darius is the president of Memory Makers. He had several glowing letters about him. The scholarship is to promote clowning in Texas. Applicants cannot be younger than 10 to apply. Gema Anderson of Mid Cities suggested we have a Junior Joey Award to get more interest in the younger people. Requirement will be published in the Joey Journal

### **New Business**

- 1. First Timers to Convention: Abigail "Gummy Bear" Robles Membrez, Linda "Shotzi" Lester, Joe "Blades" Lester, Darius "Inka" Cross and Jim "Jimbo" Carr were recognized and presented with ribbons.
- 2. Host for 2020 Convention: Board will host the convention for 2020.
- 3. <u>Committee Restructure:</u> Report was given by Andy Anderson. Mauri Norris, Susan Keys, Patsy McMillan and Aurora Krause were on the committee. Focus on a shorter convention, Thursday thru Sunday morning, consolidate categories, do away with the theme party, evening competition and no classes during competition, repeat classes, class then a jam after the class, more jam structure and earlier, longer classes, cut back on entertainment at the awards banquet. Motion was made by Shannon Green and seconded Mary Alice Owen to accept these recommendations as guidelines. Motion carried.

#### **New Business**

1. 2020Elections – Nominating Chair, Andy Anderson

Elections proceeded as follows:

2020 Board of Directors are:

 President – Judy Cornett – Lana Sue Fridge nominated Judy from the floor and Mary Jane DeBee made motion to cease nominations and elect by acclamation. James Gill seconded. Motion carried.

Vice President – John Luce- Motion by Suzy Wall to elect by acclamation. Seconded by MaryJane DeBee and Motion carried.

Treasurer – Cindy Rice – Cindy Rice nominated from the floor by Rhea Anderson. Motion was made by Suzy Wall to cease nominations and elect by acclamation. Motion seconded by Lana Sue Fridge. Motion carried.

Secretary – Voncille Cox – Secretary Mary Alice Owen made motion to cease nominations and elect by acclamation and seconded by Gema Anderson. Motion carried.

Sargent at Arms-Patsy McMillan- Mauri Morris made motion to cease nominations and elect by acclamation and Jane Wilson seconded. Motion carried.

The areas then got into their groups to elect their representatives.

North East Area Rep – Susan Keys

North Central Area Rep – LJ Luce Panhandle West Area Rep – Susan Butler Southeast Area Rep – Pam Blacklock South Central Area Rep – Abigail Robles Membrez

Mary Whipple motioned to adjourn and Cynthia Parker seconded. Everyone was in favor and the meeting adjourned at 5:51 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Voncille Cox TCA Secretary 9/26/19